Court Reporter and Recorder Testing, Certification, and Renewal
Only certified reporters and recorders may record or prepare transcripts of
proceedings held in Michigan courts or of depositions taken in Michigan as
regulated by Michigan Court Rule 8.108(G). Certification is accomplished through
a testing process administered by the Court Reporting and Recording Board of
Review through the assistance of the State Court Administrative Office.
The examinations are held twice each year to test knowledge and speed, and,
as to a recorder, familiarity with basic logging techniques and transcript
production. The Board determines the passing score. In order to be eligibile for
registration for an examination, an applicant must be at least 18 years of age,
be a high school graduate, and not have been under sentence for a felony for a
period of two years. An applicant for the certified shorthand reporter
examination must have satisfactorily completed an approved, accredited, or
recognized course of study in court reporting. The registration fee is $60.
See details about testing, certification, and
renewal or contact the State Court Administrative Office at (517)